Winner of the Political Plume 2016!

Every year the Plastic Soup Foundation awards a prize to a politician who has taken action to tackle the problem of plastic soup, so too in 2016. 

The winner of the Politics Plume for 2016 is Mary Creagh! This year there were five nominees and Mary Creagh is the clear winner with 70% of the votes.  

Last summer, Mary Creagh chaired the select committee on microplastics in personal care products as Labour Party MP in the British House of Commons. The committee, which consisted of five representatives from all five parties, unanimously recommended that the British government introduce a ban.

The Plastic Soup Foundation sincerely congratulates Mary Creagh and hopes to be able to hand over the prize in person soon.